Composer Yannis Markopoulos to Receive 2012 Phidippides Award

New York.- The Greek American Educational Public Information Systems, Inc. (GAEPIS) is proud to announce that this year its flagship radio service, Hellenic Public Radio-COSMOS FM, celebrates 25 consecutive years of public service and broadcasting excellence in the New York metropolitan and tri-state areas.

Two major events will commemorate this auspicious occasion. On Friday, November 2, 2012, during the 18th Annual Phidippides Award Gala Dinner, GAEPIS, Inc. will bestow the prestigious 2012 Phidippides Award to legendary Greek composer, Yannis Markopoulos, in honor of his passionate advocacy of Hellenism throughout his half-century career in music.  The event will be held at Terrace on the Park, Flushing Meadows Park, NY, at 7PM. Gala Chairperson is TV journalist, Ms. Andrea Stassou, and Co-Chairs are Mr. Kostas Angeloudis, Ms. Alexis Christoforou, Mr. Christ Economos and Hon. Matthew Mirones. On Sunday, November 4, 2012, Yannis Markopoulos, will conduct an exclusive celebratory live concert with a special guest artist appearance by the internationally acclaimed Greek tenor, Mario Frangoulis, at the historic Great Hall, Cooper Union, in Manhattan at 4PM. The concert will feature a 15 member Orchestral Ensemble, an 8 member chorus conducted by the composer and guest singers Vasiliki Lavina and Alexandros Belles.

“As we mark the silver anniversary since the first days of our broadcast, all of us at GAEPIS and COSMOS FM are very proud to celebrate this memorable milestone. We are appreciative and grateful to the community for its loyal support throughout the years,” said Stavros Soussou, GAEPIS Chairman. Adding, “as we look at the challenges and opportunities in the future, we believe, because of the collective strength of the COSMOS FM family, that our best days are yet to come.  We look forward to another 25 years of broadcasting excellence ‘preserving our Hellenic heritage with distinction’.”

The Phidippides Award, for passionate advocacy of Hellenism, is a creation of the world renowned jeweler Ilias Lalaounis, bestowed annually to an individual or organization that has demonstrated a profound record of promoting and preserving Hellenism on a global scale. Since 1994, past award recipients have included some of Greece’s most significant cultural figures such as the late Jules Dassin and The Melina Mercouri Foundation, Mikis Theodorakis, Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki, the late Michael Cacoyannis. Also, distinguished Hellenes and philhellenes have included Andrew A. Athens, Demetrios and Georgia Kaloidis, John and Margo Catsimatidis, Dennis Mehiel, The Alexander S. Onassis Public Benefit Foundation, Prof. Edmund Keeley, Sen. Paul Sarbanes.

Speak Your Mind